Lake Center Christian School Inducts New NHS Members

Students excelling in academic excellence, Christian character, service to Christ, leadership

By: Emily Chesnic, Campus Communications & Volunteer Coordinator

HARTVILLE – Being selected for the National Honor Society (NHS) is a distinguished honor, with membership only awarded to senior high students demonstrating excellence in scholarship, service, character, and leadership. 

On Feb. 18, 15 Lake Center Christian School (LCCS) students, who lead by example, were “tapped” for membership and recognized for their achievements in academic excellence, service to Christ, and Christian character, which are three of the school’s core values. 

“Meeting the criteria for acceptance into the Lake Center National Honor Society is a rigorous undertaking,” said Sharon Martin, the NHS Adviser at LCCS.

Students must first carry a cumulative 3.5 grade point average to qualify and be a sophomore or junior to receive an invitation to apply to the LCCS Chapter of NHS, she explained. Then, students must fill out an “extensive application” that is later reviewed by the Lake Center National Honor Society Teacher Advisory Council to be sure the requirements have been met, including voluntary completion of some service hours, Martin said.

After the review process, the students selected for NHS membership were “tapped” and brought by second and third year Lake Center NHS members to a surprise induction luncheon.

At the 17th annual National Honor Society Induction Ceremony on Feb. 24 at LCCS, the three juniors and 12 sophomores officially became members of the national organization recognizing outstanding senior high students and encouraging continued service and community engagement. The formal ceremony included an address by celebrated speaker, LCCS Secondary Principal Crystal Maarschalk. 

“As I look out at each individual represented, I see students who are world changers for His glory. Students in the LCCS Chapter of NHS are not only challenged to exemplify the characteristics of leadership, service, academic excellence, and character, but they are challenged to do so in order to bring glory to Him, the author and perfecter of the faith,” Maarschalk said. “Congratulations to our new NHS inductees and returning second and third year members.”

Following the ceremony, NHS members and their families; Dr. Joseph Beeson, LCCS Superintendent; and the members of the Teacher Advisory Council, Kelly Clarson, Martin Meyer, Sean Miller, Jennifer Neel, Heath Lambright, and Heidi Roberts, celebrated with a reception. 

The 2022 newly inducted NHS members for LCCS are juniors Peyton Fisher, Christina Luton, and Emily Miller, and sophomores Miranda Bailey, Andrew Carlson, Jenna Eddy, Ava Karmie, Jack Katigbak, Abigail Klein, Micah McConahay, Jordan Neel, Corban Osborne, Ava Pletcher, Sarah Stock, and Micah Wright.

LCCS students celebrating a second year of NHS membership: seniors Benjamin Carlson, Julia Garaux, Kendall Kauffman, Andrew King, Kloë Maninga, Rebecca Miller, Spencer Plum, Kaydri Sommers, Madison Wagner, and Anthony Williamson, and juniors Jayne Barber, Alexis Joseph, Titus Mock, and Taylor Tufts. 

LCCS students who have achieved a third year of NHS membership: seniors NHS President Sophia Sommers, NHS Vice President Leah Klein, NHS Secretary Madison Osborne, NHS Treasurer Morgan Swartzentruber, NHS Chaplain Christopher Kline, Parliamentarian Jessica Ickes, Aidan Green, and Emmeline Stoltzfus.

The LCCS Chapter of NHS annually logs numerous service hours, fulfilling volunteering needs in the school community and beyond. NHS members commit to no less than 20 service hours a year. Lake Center’s third year NHS members have each logged 60 hours of service or more.

Pictured are Lake Center Christian School’s newest members of the National Honor Society: back row (left to right) Christina Luton, Andrew Carlson, Micah Wright, Micah McConahay, Corban Osborne, Jack Katigbak, Jordan Neel, Peyton Fisher; and front row (left to right) Miranda Bailey, Ava Pletcher, Ava Karmie, Sarah Stock, Abigail Klein, Jenna Eddy, and Emily Miller.
Scroll to Top